News & Announcements

Ashok Agrawala's international outreach with college students in India

Mar 23, 2012 - Ashok Agrawala and students from a small college in India participate on online lectures in an example of international outreach, blended learning, and enhanced accessibility to education.

Carl Kingsford recognized by Sloan Foundation

Mar 13, 2012 - Carl Kingsford was recognized with an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation award in evolutionary and computational molecular biology.

Wall Street Journal quotes Resnik and Shneiderman about Twitter

Mar 07, 2012 - Wall Street Journal quoted Ben Shneiderman and Philip Resnik for their articles on Twitter and public opinion.

The React Lab Project lets you respond to live TV

Mar 01, 2012 - Philip Resnik's mobile app for responding to live TV events second-by-second in real time using your smartphone was featured on the Kojo Nnamdi show.

Ashok Agrawala released the M-Urgency App

Jan 26, 2012 - M-Urgency, an app that sends live audio and video from your smartphone directly to the University of Maryland Police Department, enables fast and appropriate dispatch of emergency assistance.

Samir Khuller's mentee is a Intel Science Talent Search Finalist

Jan 25, 2012 - Samir Khuller's mentee, a Montgomery Blair High School senior, became one of 40 Intel Science Talent Search Finalists for his project on fast algorithms on multiple machines.

Min Wu’s former students received a Best Student Paper Award in the ACM Multimedia 2011 Conference

Jan 07, 2012 - The ACM ranked Min Wu’s PhD students paper top 3 out of 335 submissions: Ravi Garg and Avinash L. Varna won an award for their paper "Seeing’ ENF: Natural Time Stamp for Digital Video via Optical sensing and Signal Processing."

CS Grad Student has won an Information is Beautiful Award

Jan 07, 2012 - Grad Student Krist Wongsuphasawat won an award for showing the European debt crisis over time with his information visualization, European Bubbles.

Bederson named ACM Distinguished Scientist

Dec 29, 2011 - Ben Bederson's significant impact on the human computer interaction field made him a Distinguished Member of the Association for Computing Machinery.

Shneiderman named an IEEE Fellow

Dec 21, 2011 - Ben Shneiderman, who has been championing improved interoperability for electronic health records, has been recognized as an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Fellow.